Endocrine Disruptors: The Weight Loss Saboteur

Photo on 1-11-15 at 10.29 AM

Hello Claris

Step into my office….Starbucks lol. It will have to do until BAD ASH Training takes off (this year) when I can have my own fancy pants executive suite.

I’m drawing attention to my presence here because I witnessed something extremely disturbing today…I would even go as far to call it a BIO ATTACK!

Maybe the Taliban wasn’t involved, but it was still a pretty damn scary, at least from a Holistic Nutritionist’s perspective.

As my I ordered my tall blonde roast with room, I noticed that the busy barista steamed milk while it was still in its plastic carton…….I NEARLY HAD A HEART ATTACK!

He didn’t realize it, but by heating plastic to scorching temperatures, he was releasing billions of endocrine disruptors into the milk he was about to pour into someones latte! Disruptors that wreak long term and and even life time damage to a person’s endocrine glads (DIRECTLY AFFECTS WEIGHT LOSS!!!! )

Endocrine disruptors are chemicals that may interfere with the body’s endocrine system and produce adverse developmental, reproductive, neurological, and immune effects in both humans and wildlife.I had to say something to the recipient of this beverage. (National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences) 

I quickly made small talk with the soon to be victim and somewhat awkwardly blurted “hey you know your latte was made improperly, I would ask them to toss it and make a new one”

She looked at me, perplexed.

What’s wrong with it?

I then went into a damn near religious rant about endocrine disrupters and how the beverage she just ordered was riddled with them.

Basically….SHE DIDN’T CARE

The woman humored me for a moment then slowly backed away from the science-ey conversation… tainted latte in hand. Which brings me to the purpose of posting this blog.

Endocrine disruptors are the new niccotine

The public is largely oblivious to the extensive damage that can be caused by these chemical bastards and I would argue they are actually MORE dangerous….because they are so prevalent in so many things that we consume! And, they can even be absorbed through the skin and via inhalation. The long term effects of these dangerous substances are even more detrimental to health because they affect the our bodies signaling systems!!!!

Our endocrine glads are responsible for mood, metabolism, reproductive system, cellular regeneration, BASICALLY EVERYTHING!

If we screw up our endocrine system we are effed as a species. Seriously.

I’m not writing this to scare you, but to encourage you to become educated about endocrine disruptors.

How can I reduce my exposure?

  • Avoid heating up plastic containers in the mircrowave
  • Try not to eat off of styrofoam plates, cups, or storage containers
  • Avoid canned food as often as possible
  • Limit soy intake
  • Switch to parobean free moisturizers and cleansers
  • Practice deep breathing exercises, yoga, mediation
  • Do not drink from plastic bottles, especially if they have been sitting in the sun
  • Drink filtered water
  • Limit processed food intake

YOU have the power to make change!

As a consumer, you vote with your dollars. So for the sake of your children and all future generations please please please spend your dollars on BPA free products and DEMAND that your barista make your latte properly.

This public announcement has been approved by BAD ASH Training 😛

Have a happy, healthy week babes

❤ Ash

Leave a Reply

