Walking or Running?

I’m a runner

Me standing at the top of one of my favorite running trails
Me standing at the top of one of my favorite running trails

I always have been and (as long as my knees hold up) I always will be.

But after years of literally running my body into the ground, I’ve been forced to incorporate walking into my routine.

At first, this kind of devastated me…I didn’t have the patience for it.

And now I’ve grown to LOVE walking-not as much as I love running- but pretty damn close.

Which is better?

Well, it depends on what your looking for. Consider this list of comparisons:

For Calorie Burn:

Running takes the cake.

A 200 pound dude could burn about 115 calories walking 1 mile at a chill pace.

The same guy would burn 150 cals running a mile at a pace of 6 miles per hour

And if you he’s strolling for a mile at a pace of 2 miles per hour, he would burn 113 calories but it would take him twice as long (total exercise duration = 30 minutes).

This is where folks get it twisted. You burn fewer calories exercising at a lower intensity, but if you exercise for a longer period of time, in some cases, as with walking at 2 miles per hour versus 4 miles per hour, you may burn the same total number of calories.

Bottom line: You burn more cals running.

For Hormone Profile: 

Walking wins this race.

Studies have shown that leisurely walking drastically reduces cortisol levels (I’m sure you are all aware of this hormone thanks to those annoying “belly fat” commercials…don’t buy the product, it’s bogus.)

Easy walking also increases “feel good” hormones, especially when you are walking in nature with someone you like spending time with.

Long walks on the beach…check.

For Cardiovascular Health:

Tie

This depends on your current cardiovascular health. The only way to truly improve your circulatory system is to challenge it. For some people, walking is challenging enough to increase heart rate enough for adaptation to occur. But once they get in better shape, you’d better get to runnin’.

Wear your heart rate monitor.

What’s My Opinion?

I think it’s good to do both. I use walking as a time to reflect, clear my head, and get outdoors while I use running for utility. Both activities are great for circulating lymph, oxygenating the body, and improving overall health.

Thank you babes so much for reading my post.

If you like this blog, then you will LOVE my email list. You can join my email club by clicking this link: https://badashtraining.leadpages.net/whole-foods-guide/

Love ya ❤

Leave a Reply

