How to run a marathon with no training

I ran the Long Beach Marathon this past Sunday, and you could say I did pretty well

Long Beach Marathon Resusts
Long Beach Marathon Results 

8:12 pace, 3:35 total time, 4th in my age group, and 34th out of 8,000 + female runners….not too shabby.

I must have trained pretty hard right?

WRONG

I basically winged this race

My training was inconsistent.

I ate nachos the night before, had a beer before bed (not my usual routine, but I was out with friends) and only slept a few hours.

Is this the secret sauce? Not exactly.

The reason I did well in this marathon is because I released limiting beliefs.

Because of the previous night’s shenanigans, I assumed that I was going to hurt from the very start of the race (which was true).

Since I went into the race accepting that pain was inevitable AND completely determined to finish the race, I held nothing back.

I figured since I was going to be hurting I might as well just run as fast as I can and see what happens.

The outcome was a 10 minute PR and a time that qualified for the Boston Marathon. Not too shabby.

The moral of this story is that sometimes you need to chop off your head and run.

I’m not advising that you should go out of your way to do the wrong things before a physical (or non physical) event. I am saying that if you stop stressing and commit, the outcome will be exceptionally better than you may have anticipated.

I hope that this has been an inspiration and that it can be applied to many areas of your life : )

If you enjoy this blog, please share it with your friends and family. Also visit my website at http://www.badashtraining.com

Leave a Reply

