The Bullet Proof Diet Experiment

I’m doing a 30 Day experiment on myself and I’ll be using this blog to record my findings.

What I’m testing: The effects of nutritional ketosis on athletic performance, physique, mental efficiency, blood profile, and skin

What exactly I’m doing:

I’ve been researching Dave Aspery’s “The Bullet Proof Diet” recently and I am pretty intrigued by the science behind it. I’ve experimented with ketosis in the past (following “the art and science of low carb living”) and I felt pretty good in the beginning but  overtime became inflamed and ( I suspect) acidic. Dave’s protocol for nutritional ketosis follows similar principals except his version attempts to minimize toxins. The exact outline of what I’ll be following can be found here http://bulletproofdietbook.com

I highly recommend checking out Dave’s blog at http://www.bulletproofexec.com, he has A TON of great content and research based health info. Anyways…that was a bit of a tangent. Back to the experiment. 

What I predict:

I’m expecting the following results from the experiment:

  • Improved focus
  • Decrease in body fat
  • Improved blood glucose profile
  • Increased energy 
  • Improved fitness

How am I testing myself

to measure the aforementioned hypotheses I will be completing the following tests at the intervals specified:

  • Luminosity “Brain Test”, One day 1 of the challenge and another on day 30 
  • Electronic Body Fat Impedence Test taken Day 1 and Day 30 + weekly progress pics…yes I’ll post them. 
  • Blood glucose monitoring, morning noon and night 
  • Daily diary entires tracking mood, perceived energy, and sleep patterns
  • 2 part fitness test completed on days 1 and 2 and 31 and 32 (timed mile + strength test)

When am I starting

I really wanted to start this week (today actually) but it seems as though I will have to wait a couple of days. I have surgery tomorrow and I feel the medication might interfere with results. SO I will officially begin the experiment Wednesday July 23rd (damn….put myself on blast).

Other stuff I’ll be taking

list of sups and extras:

  1. MCT oil
  2. Multi Vit every other day
  3. biotin
  4. omega 3 fatty acid (2000mg/day)
  5. vitamin C 
  6. Nootropic Vitamins 
  7. Alkalized Water 

Anywho, this series is really more to hold me accountable than anything. But if you are able to gain some insight on nutritional ketosis or are inspired to check out the bullet proof executive as a result of my experiment then that’s pretty groovy. 

until next time babes 

Leave a Reply

